jump to navigation

I Shall Call The Pebble Dare… 02/22/2013

Posted by pastorhigdon in Uncategorized.
trackback

One of the greatest privileges (and responsibilities) that I have as a pastor is to officiate at funerals and these past two months have been the most demanding months that I have ever experienced for funerals, averaging nearly one per week. Perhaps it is because I have had the opportunity to use it so often, but for some reason I haven’t been able to get my favorite funeral Scripture, John 14:1-4, out of my mind. “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

I have been especially thinking about the last verse “You know the way to the place where I am going.” During the funeral service the scripture reading stops at that point (for good reason) because in the next verse the ever practical Thomas says, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” I think that I am drawn to that verse so much because I believe that we all feel lost sometimes. We struggle to follow, we want to know the way, but sometimes we fall behind, and sometimes we get lost completely.

Parker J. Palmer in his book “ A Hidden Wholeness,” describes a time when farmers on the Great Plains, at the first sign of a blizzard, would run a rope from their back door out to the barn. They all knew stories of people who had wandered off and been frozen to death, having lost sight of home in a whiteout while still in their own back yards.

My friends, we all get lost sometimes, whether on a journey into the wilderness our spiritual journey or even in our own back yards. As I continue my Lenten journey, these words from the musical Godspell have been weighing heavily on me. Listen to the words and ask yourself if you know the way to the place Christ is going?

Where are you going? Can you take me with you….

By My Side

Where are you going?
Where are you going?
Can you take me with you?
For my hand is cold
And needs warmth
Where are you going?

Far beyond where the horizon lies
Where the horizon lies
And the land sinks into mellow blueness
Oh please, take me with you

Let me skip the road with you
I can dare myself
I can dare myself
I’ll put a pebble in my shoe
And watch me walk (watch me walk)
I can walk and walk!
(I can walk!)

I shall call the pebble Dare
I shall call the pebble Dare
We will talk, we will talk together
We will talk (chorus) about walking
Dare shall be carried
And when we both have had enough
I will take him from my shoe, singing:
“Meet your new road!”
Then I’ll take your hand
Finally glad
Finally glad
That you are here
By my side

By my side
By my side
By my side

(Spoken- Judas)
Then the man they called Judas Iscariot
Went to the chief priests, and said
“What will you give me to betray Him to you?”
They paid him thirty pieces of silver.
And from that moment, he began to look out for an opportunity
To betray Him.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

