jump to navigation

“This Is When You Know We’re Going To Hell!” 03/02/2013

Posted by pastorhigdon in Uncategorized.
trackback

“This is when you know we’re going to hell!” I have loved Steve Harvey for a long time and in my opinion, he is by far the all time best “Family Feud” host. I really enjoyed this exchange and it certainly echos some of the issues I have been pondering lately.

I have shared with you before about my struggles with my perception of the ever changing values in our culture. I am saddened and challenged in many ways by what I perceive to be the perspectives and priorities of what is rapidly becoming our dominant culture. I see the changes in small things such as the ever present “War on Christmas” which some of my friends argue doesn’t exist at all while others say it is a sign of the end of times.

I see the changes in other ways as well. An example would be the disintegrating lack of respect for people in authority such as our teachers and police. Every teacher I have ever talked to says that the classroom is a very different place today than it was when my Mom taught school 25 years ago. The rule around our house was that if you got in trouble in school, whatever the punishment was, you received twice as much when you got home. You were presumed guilty unless you could prove your innocence. Now it seems that the parents immediately assume that their child is innocent first and that it must be someone else’s fault.

One night, a few years back, I had the opportunity to do a “ride along” with a local police officer. I was completely amazed at what happens on our streets after most of us have gone to bed. The officer pulled a car filled with young people over around 12:30 AM. The kids had just picked up a known drug dealer and then dropped him off a few blocks later, so the officer decided to stop them just to see what was going on. The driver had just turned 16 and was still driving with a learners permit. The officer gave them a warning, a few words of advice and told them that perhaps they should call it a night and go back home. We drove past a parking lot an hour later and guess who was still there…

I told the officer that if I had been pulled over, for any reason, at that age, I would have gone straight home and prayed that my parents didn’t find out. Come to think of it, if I had been out after midnight, I would never have been allowed to go out again!! (At least not until I turned 21) My dad’s philosophy was that NOTHING good ever happened after midnight! (He was right)

So when I saw this clip from “Family Feud” I thought that it showed in a very funny way, a little bit of how I perceive what is happening in our world.

You just can’t make these things up 🙂

Blessings

Comments»

1. Judy - 03/02/2013

Once again Jim, I agree with what you wrote…I too, like Steve and thought the clip was funny. But the reality of it, makes me sad and scares me….

pastorhigdon - 03/02/2013

Tomorrow’s sermon title is “Fear Itself,” so we are going to be talking about fear and how Jesus taught us to be bold:)


Leave a Reply

