jump to navigation

That’s Good… No That’s Bad!!! 05/14/2020

Posted by pastorhigdon in Uncategorized.
trackback

“That’s Good… No That’s Bad!!!”

Cows

Photo by Greg Willoughby

As I was scrolling through Facebook, I came across this beautiful pastoral scene of two cows happily grazing in a pasture. “Isn’t that nice!” I thought to myself. Then I read the caption by Greg Willoughby that said… “What’s wrong with this picture of the cows …in the HAY field????”

Apparently, the cows weren’t supposed to be there!!! I then read one of the comments that said… “At least they weren’t trotting down the road!”

Isn’t this picture an excellent example of life… is it good? Is it bad? Is it funny? Is it sad? So, often the answer depends on your perspective.

I remember back as a young boy watching “Hee Haw” (our family never missed it) I always loved the comedian Archie Campbell, and one of my favorites was his recurring skit… “That’s Good… No, That’s Bad” It would go something like this:

Archie Campbell: “It was a beautiful day yesterday, so I went out and took a long walk.”

Buck Owens: “That’s good.”

Archie Campbell: “No, that’s bad.”

Buck Owens: “Why?”

Archie Campbell: “I wasn’t looking where I was going and I fell into an open well.”

Buck Owens: “Oh, that’s bad.”

Archie Campbell: “No, that’s good.”

Buck Owens: “Why?”

Archie Campbell: “There was a big bag full of gold coins at the bottom of that well.”

Buck Owens: “Well, that was good.”

Archie Campbell: “No, that was bad.”

Buck Owens: “Why?”

Archie Campbell: “Well, I had no way to get out of the well, you see.”

Buck Owens: “Yeah, I guess that was bad.”

Archie Campbell: “No, that was good.”

Buck Owens: “Why?”

Archie Campbell: “Well, I yelled really loud and a guy came by and threw me a rope, so I was able to get out of the well with the bag of coins.”

Buck Owens: “Well, that was really good.”

Archie Campbell: “No, that was really bad.”

Buck Owens: “Why?

Archie Campbell: “Because the guy was an IRS agent.”

Is it good? Is it bad? Is it favorable? Is it unfavorable? I am reminded of the passage of scripture in Jeremiah 42:6 “Whether it is good or bad, we will obey the Lord our God, to whom we are sending you, so that it will go well with us, for we will obey the Lord our God.”

“Whether it is good or bad, we will obey the Lord…” Those are powerful words in these difficult times.

My friends, In all that you do… seek the Lord. In the difficult decisions that you must make… petition the Lord in prayer. In a world where good and evil are difficult to distinguish… turn to God’s Word for your answers.

And when you find yourself surrounded by evil… remember the words of Joseph… But Joseph said to them, “Don’t be afraid… You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.” Genesis 50:19-20

God is good all the time… and all the time, God is good…

My friends… Don’t be afraid… and obey the Lord Our God

Blessings,

Pastor Jim

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment